TaxCloud

TaxCloud

16 Reviews

What is TaxCloud?

At TaxCloud, we believe that technology can make it easy for any business to calculate and collect sales tax. We also believe that businesses shouldn't have to break the bank to comply with sales tax laws.

Our company was founded by e-commerce veterans in 2008 to offer online businesses an easy and affordable way to calculate and collect sales tax. We designed TaxCloud, our sales tax management service, to be easy to use and to leverage the benefits of cloud computing.

TaxCloud is headquartered in Norwalk, CT and has employees throughout the United States.

For additional information, visit https://taxcloud.com.

Serchen Index

59.13
30
Employees
16
Reviews
886
Followers
N/A
Likes

TaxCloud Key Features

For Developers https://dev.taxcloud.com

What is TaxCloud?


TaxCloud Product Details

  • TaxCloud has over 26,000 online sellers that use our platform. They appreciate the simplicity of the service and the value they receive.
  • Our most popular service, know as Automated Compliance, is our state paid, FREE service in 25 states but we also have other merchant paid options - it's up to you!
  • Because we work directly with 25 member states, we can offer indemnification to our customers and partners in those states - meaning that the states look to us as the responsible party if there is ever an issue with your sales tax.

TaxCloud Support & Customer Service

TaxCloud offers multiple ways to get your questions answered or if you run into any problems:

  • Phone
  • Email
  • Web
  • Chat

TaxCloud Pricing

Automated Compliance - FREE in 25 member states, as low as 0.125% of revenue fee in remaining non-member states.

Selective Compliance - You select the states you want to collect sales tax in. Tiered pricing starting at $9/month based on the number of transactions you do in a month. 50% off for paying for one year up front.


TaxCloud Free Trial Information

TaxCloud provides a $50 credit to be applied to testing your stores with TaxCloud in the first 60 days after you create your TaxCloud account.


Countries TaxCloud Services Available In

United States, International support coming soon.


TaxCloud Alternatives

Vertex

Vertex

Tax Management Software

1,089

N/A

2,162

1,288
Avalara

Avalara

Tax Management Software

2,477

4,620

25K

33K
CCH

CCH

Tax Management Software

1,687

2,320

26

1,666
Blue J Legal Inc

Blue J Legal Inc

Tax Management Software

62

N/A

1,223

702
ProConnect Proseries

ProConnect Proseries

Tax Management Software

10

10K

36K

84K
PitBullTax

PitBullTax

Tax Management Software

14

136

476

2,219
Cloud 9 Hosting

Cloud 9 Hosting

Tax Management Software

10

N/A

52

928
Global Tax Rates Ltd

Global Tax Rates Ltd

Tax Management Software

N/A

N/A

4

N/A
RapidTax

RapidTax

Tax Management Software

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

TaxCloud Reviews

3.1

Great!

16 Reviews

Last reviewed on
25 June 2021

What do you think?

Help other software buyers make informed decisions.

Write a review

Monday, June 28, 2021

Verified Review

You can't win with these people.

At first they worked well. Then they raised their rates and I had to go to their so-called free service, which was charging me $30 amonth to file taxes but wasn't collecting taxes anymore. The tax number I got for my local state through them? My state tax people informed me it wasn't real, and I had to file all the things they were supposed to file myslf.

I have been trying to cancel an account with them for going on 3 months now. The first month, they charged me after I told it to canceland I thought it didn't take, so I went into the account to cancel again. You have to cancel through your online dashboard.

The 2nd month I was getting charged again, so I went into the account to figure out why. This gave them the loophole they needed to tell me that I obviously had signed in and clearly hadn't cancelled. So I told it to cancel a third time.

This time they're charging me again. I went to my bank about the matter to dispute charges and stop the payment. Their response? To charge me a $50 "rejection fee". I've sent them numerous emails telling them the account is closed, revoking permission by email since by dashboard isn't working, the works. I have not gotten a response this go around.

If I could file fraudulent charges against this company I would. I'm facing having a bill rack up in my face that I can get into trouble for regarding a service I was never provided adequately and have tried to cancel numerous times. We're literally living hand to mouth here, and I have these thieves taking me for a ride.

Overall Rating

Ease of Use

Features

Value for Money

Customer Support

Likely to Recommend

Did you find this review helpful?

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

I created a online store in March to focus on pandemic masks. My store is on WooCommerce and TaxCloud has a plug-in that works great. After my store was built it only took me 15 minutes to get TaxCloud going. It's work as advertised. Just note that if you choose the free service in their 25 member states, you have to collect sales tax in all of them.

Overall Rating

Ease of Use

Features

Value for Money

Customer Support

Likely to Recommend

Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

A really nice experience working with TaxCloud on my needs and getting set-up pretty quickly. I use them for sales tax calculation only and file myself so it was by far the most affordable service I looked at. Nothing bad to say.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Monday, June 17, 2019

I sell on Etsy and even though I thought Etsy was collecting for me they are only doing it in some states and I have to handle the rest. Tax Cloud has been great to help me in the few states I have to collect in and their plug-in to Etsy is easy to connect my store to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Long after I closed my account, TaxCloud continued to send monthly bills and deduct those charges from my account. They blamed a "computer glitch" and promised to refund the charges but never did. They still send the invoices but I've now blocked their access to my bank account so they can no longer steal from me. At best, they are grossly incompetent. At worst, they're a scam.

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:46

We did experience a billing error and resolved it with all affected merchant and apologize for any inconvenience.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, April 26, 2019

Do NOT enter personal details or credit card information as you'll not be able to remove these! If you decide that this service is suspect and do not use it, they'll still try to charge you and even apply an exuberant penalty if you block them. A scam.

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:48

If you are not live with our service but still send us API activity, you will be charged as you are using our platform. Clearly outlined in our terms of service.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, April 26, 2019

This is a 'service' to avoid at all cost! Nothing works and is designed to confound and confuse - which it doesn't manage to do. Not practical, usable or functional.

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:47

Thousands of our clients disagree with you Michael.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, March 8, 2019

Terrible service!! Do NOT USE THESE MORONS! They did NOT do what they said they were going to and what I was paying them for- which was file my taxes in non streamlined states-They cost me over $1000.00 in penalties/for late filings because they didn’t do it- so I had to. Go to Avalara or ANYONE ELSE INSTEAD. I should have sued these jokers!!

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:52

No clear what your issue was Ann. We file for thousands of merchants each month without error and if an error on our part was made would have covered any penalties as that is part of our terms of service.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Saturday, September 22, 2018

Easy to set-up for a small business and I pay nothing to have my sales tax taken care of.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, August 31, 2018

I shopped around for sales tax help and was intrigued by TaxCloud's free option. While skeptical at first, it's been great - they literally do everything. Like others said, service can be slow to respond but to get a free service, I'll wait.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?
Load More Results