TaxCloud

TaxCloud

14 Reviews · Last reviewed on 30 July 2019

What is TaxCloud?

We help online retailers address the growing complexities associated with sales tax. We connect directly to carts/platforms, marketplaces, accounting software platforms and others within the eCommerce ecosystem. TaxCloud provides the sales tax calculation for every address in the U.S., files returns & remits proceeds, offers audit response services as well as indemnification in 25 member states.

TaxCloud Key Features

For Developers https://dev.taxcloud.com

What is TaxCloud?


TaxCloud Product Details

  • TaxCloud has over 26,000 online sellers that use our platform. They appreciate the simplicity of the service and the value they receive.
  • Our most popular service, know as Automated Compliance, is our state paid, FREE service in 25 states but we also have other merchant paid options - it's up to you!
  • Because we work directly with 25 member states, we can offer indemnification to our customers and partners in those states - meaning that the states look to us as the responsible party if there is ever an issue with your sales tax.

TaxCloud Support & Customer Service

TaxCloud offers multiple ways to get your questions answered or if you run into any problems:

  • Phone
  • Email
  • Web
  • Chat

TaxCloud Pricing

Automated Compliance - FREE in 25 member states, as low as 0.125% of revenue fee in remaining non-member states.

Selective Compliance - You select the states you want to collect sales tax in. Tiered pricing starting at $9/month based on the number of transactions you do in a month. 50% off for paying for one year up front.


TaxCloud Free Trial Information

TaxCloud provides a $50 credit to be applied to testing your stores with TaxCloud in the first 60 days after you create your TaxCloud account.


Countries TaxCloud Services Available In

United States, International support coming soon.


TaxCloud Reviews

3.1

Great!

14 Reviews

Last reviewed on
30 July 2019

What do you think?

Help other software buyers make informed decisions.

Write a review

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

from Fidelity Products

A really nice experience working with TaxCloud on my needs and getting set-up pretty quickly. I use them for sales tax calculation only and file myself so it was by far the most affordable service I looked at. Nothing bad to say.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Monday, June 17, 2019

from BlueBird Holiday Designs

I sell on Etsy and even though I thought Etsy was collecting for me they are only doing it in some states and I have to handle the rest. Tax Cloud has been great to help me in the few states I have to collect in and their plug-in to Etsy is easy to connect my store to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

from Rather Not Say

Long after I closed my account, TaxCloud continued to send monthly bills and deduct those charges from my account. They blamed a "computer glitch" and promised to refund the charges but never did. They still send the invoices but I've now blocked their access to my bank account so they can no longer steal from me. At best, they are grossly incompetent. At worst, they're a scam.

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:46

We did experience a billing error and resolved it with all affected merchant and apologize for any inconvenience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, April 26, 2019

from None

Do NOT enter personal details or credit card information as you'll not be able to remove these! If you decide that this service is suspect and do not use it, they'll still try to charge you and even apply an exuberant penalty if you block them. A scam.

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:48

If you are not live with our service but still send us API activity, you will be charged as you are using our platform. Clearly outlined in our terms of service.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, April 26, 2019

from None

This is a 'service' to avoid at all cost! Nothing works and is designed to confound and confuse - which it doesn't manage to do. Not practical, usable or functional.

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:47

Thousands of our clients disagree with you Michael.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, March 8, 2019

from Oyster cottage

Terrible service!! Do NOT USE THESE MORONS! They did NOT do what they said they were going to and what I was paying them for- which was file my taxes in non streamlined states-They cost me over $1000.00 in penalties/for late filings because they didn’t do it- so I had to. Go to Avalara or ANYONE ELSE INSTEAD. I should have sued these jokers!!

Response from TaxCloud:
18 June 2019 at 13:52

No clear what your issue was Ann. We file for thousands of merchants each month without error and if an error on our part was made would have covered any penalties as that is part of our terms of service.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Saturday, September 22, 2018

from McGarry

Easy to set-up for a small business and I pay nothing to have my sales tax taken care of.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, August 31, 2018

from HTI Devices

I shopped around for sales tax help and was intrigued by TaxCloud's free option. While skeptical at first, it's been great - they literally do everything. Like others said, service can be slow to respond but to get a free service, I'll wait.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Friday, August 24, 2018

from Standl Assoc

It works and it's free since I set up my account so the states pay for TaxCloud's charges. Could it be perfected? Yeah, I guess... but it's way better than paying other services what they charge. Also, I like the improvement in customer service. I guess they hired more people.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

from CDN Montessori School

The new site was a little buggy at first but it works well now. Also, it looks like they added new Customer Service reps - so my calls are answered more quickly - and I saw an 'instant chat' icon on the home page, which I don't think was there before.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

from Rare Car Parts

I signed up in June and was up and running in minutes. Many plug-ins available to popular carts and takes care of all aspects of sales tax. The Automated Compliance service is perfect for my small business.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

from Craftables for You

TaxCloud has been a great fit for my business. It's free for the service I use and was easy to connect to my WooCommerce platform. They do everything - filing, remittances and even get the mail from states. Service can be a bit slow to reply at times but I've never had an issue. Great value.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

from Henrikson

Horrible customer service...you can call and will never receive a call back (and of course no one is ever available). You can use the online customer service portal to ask a question and they don't appear to respond to that either. If there is a comparable alternative...use it!

Response from TaxCloud:
13 August 2018 at 13:01

We're very sorry about your poor service experience Tara. We had three events that impacted out ticket volumes - a new UI for the website, a price change and the Wayfair Supreme Court decision - happening around the same time. No excuse, we came up short. We have recently hired additional customer success resources and are working on our processes so we can provide a consistent customer experience moving forward.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Went from $10 a month to $173 a month with no change in service. When you call to ask why they say they will get back to you when they can. What really?

Response from TaxCloud:
13 August 2018 at 13:06

We did change our pricing in the spring. Invariably when you make such changes (that were communicated multiple times prior to the change) people will be unhappy. As the only sales tax service that has a FREE option and knowing our merchants paid prices vs. our competitors, we are very comfortable that TaxCloud is the best value available to online retailers.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Similar to TaxCloud

Vertex

Vertex

Tax Management Software

1,089

1,716

6,410
Rethink Solutions

Rethink Solutions

Tax Management Software

N/A

N/A

N/A
Taxfix

Taxfix

Tax Management Software

28

628

221
CCH

CCH

Tax Management Software

1,471

26

9
Beanstalk

Beanstalk

Tax Management Software

N/A

N/A

N/A
Longview Solutions

Longview Soluti..

Tax Management Software

230

N/A

N/A

This page was last updated 30 July 2019 12:40