Avalara

Avalara Reviews

9 Reviews

Avalara Reviews

3.3

Great!

9 Reviews

Last reviewed on
09 October 2019

What do you think?

Help other software buyers make informed decisions.

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Please do your research with other companies that offer the same services. I've been working with them for approximately six months and it's been nothing but a headache.

Overall Rating

Ease of Use

Features

Value for Money

Customer Support

Likely to Recommend

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

This company is a scam. It appears their business model is to take advantage of the changing laws regarding collection of state sales taxes to trick small businesses into contracts for services they may not need or even be able to use. In our case we signed a contract with them which is the only way to try out their services. The contact provided a 60 day trial period to test the services, so we decided to give them a shot. The trick lies in the fact that they would not schedule a meeting with our set up specialist until just after the 60 day time frame. We should have just canceled before that, but we really needed to get the tax compliance working. We trusted that they would help us or at least cancel the contract if not. Unfortunately that was not the case. Our "set up specialist" did not even call us for the meeting. She did not respond to emails or return voice mails. Leaving us to try and reschedule 2-3 weeks later. At that point we had had enough and asked to cancel. Avalara refused and sent us a bill for the entire year of service "as per their policies", saying we did not cancel within the 60 days. We were about 1-2 weeks late. So they tell you you have "60 days" to try out the service, but in reality they will not set you up until the trial is over. To me, this is fraud. They hide behind their contracts as if that give them the legal right to defraud customers. What ever you do do not do business with this company, you will regret it.

Overall Rating

Ease of Use

Features

Value for Money

Customer Support

Likely to Recommend

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Thursday, August 1, 2019

Ever since they went public the service has gone down while the price has gone up. Really difficult to get in touch with anyone for support and have implemented a price increase and new fees. Now difficult to justify the expense.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

These guys can't get it right. They have managed to get every one of our tax returns wrong. They are giving us the incorrect bank details to pay so our VAT returns are been marked as over due plus its taking them SIX months to forward on any letters they are receiving on our behalf including enforcement letters because we have paid the wrong tax department!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

I used to search through Dept. of Revenue websites and manually add tax rates in my system. Now I don't have to do that research, and I am confident the rates I'm quoting to customers are accurate. I highly recommend Avalara for anyone selling into multiple states.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Monday, August 12, 2013

I highly recommend Avalara to anybody who would like to save time, thanks for the awesome product!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Thursday, March 28, 2013

You simply cannot beat Avalara in my book. Fabulous software for a really attractive price. The ease of use of this software is something highly desirable and is a keeper for me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Monday, February 11, 2013

Avalara has everything I've ever needed. The software is excellent and the customer service is highly knowledgeable and friendly. Plus, anyone can learn how to use it. Highly recommended!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?

Monday, January 14, 2013

Avalara made my job so much easier. It is easy to learn even if you aren't a fast learner. It was also a very cost efficient way to improve my business.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?
Load More Results